Maryland streamlines DME licensure requirements
ANNAPOLIS, Md. – Maryland lawmakers have passed a pair of bills to remove the pharmacy licensure requirement for DME, the Maryland-National Capital Homecare Association (MNCHA) announced April 8. DME providers in the state are licensed by the Office of Healthcare Quality as residential service agencies, but were also subject to pharmacy licensure requirements by the Maryland Board of Pharmacy, according to a release. In 2013, DME licensing fees increased from $500 per year to $3,000 every three years; and providers were required to pay pharmacy licensing fees of $700 per year for the first year and $600 every year thereafter; and have a full-time pharmacist on staff. “Durable medical equipment providers across the country are being systematically dismantled by the CMS competitive bidding program, claims audits and appeal delays,” said MNCHA president Gwen Turner. “Streamlined licensure allows providers to focus on giving the highest quality equipment and service to their patients instead of filling out state-mandated paperwork.” The law is set to take effect June 1.