Skip to Content

Ira Katz named indy pharmacist of the year

Ira Katz named indy pharmacist of the year

CHARLOTTE, N.C. – Ira Katz was named the 2021 Willard B. Simmons Independent Pharmacist of the Year at the National Community Pharmacists Association 2021 Annual Convention, held Oct. 9-12. 

The annual award, sponsored by Upsher-Smith Laboratories, is given to a pharmacist who exhibits exemplary professional leadership, service to community and commitment to independent pharmacy. 

Katz is the owner of Little Five Points Pharmacy in Atlanta, which he opened 40 years ago. As a pharmacist committed to reducing the number of lives lost due to opioid overdoses, Katz understands the importance of community education when it comes to opioid safety. Through his pharmacy, he provides naloxone (Narcan) administration education and has made the product available, free of charge, to those in the community, including local businesses and restaurants.  

Katz is Chairman of the Board of the Georgia Academy of Independent Pharmacy where he has been a board member for more than 25 years, and he also serves on the AIP Alternative Income Committee. He is also a member of the Georgia Pharmacy Association, serving on its governmental affairs team. 

“Ira Katz has played an invaluable role as a community pharmacist, and we couldn’t be more pleased to help NCPA recognize his achievements,” said Rusty Field, President and CEO, Upsher-Smith. “Ira is a proven leader who has demonstrated that a pharmacist’s role goes far beyond dispensing medications. His efforts to educate and marshal resources to help those in need have single handedly made a difference in people’s lives.”


To comment on this post, please log in to your account or set up an account now.