Skip to Content

CMS ushers in Standard Written Order

CMS ushers in Standard Written Order

WASHINGTON - Only one type of order is now needed for DMEPOS claims, starting with dates of service Jan. 1, 2020, according to the DME MACs.

To help reduce provider burden, a new Standard Written Order (SWO) replaces the following types of orders:

  • preliminary/dispensing order;
  • Detailed Written Order;
  • Five Element Order/Written Order Prior to Delivery; and
  • Seven Element Order and Detailed Product Description.

The DME MACs say providers should refer to the new Standard Written Order requirements and Standard Documentation Requirements for All Claims Submitted for details on the new order elements, they say.

SWOs must include the following elements:

  • beneficiary's name or MBI;
  • order date;
  • general description of item (general description, HCPCS code, HCPCS code narrative or a brand name/model number);
  • all concurrently ordered options;
  • all concurrently ordered supplies; quantity to be dispensed;
  • treating practitioner name or national provider identifier (NPI); and
  • treating practitioner's signature.


To comment on this post, please log in to your account or set up an account now.