Skip to Content

NCPA names Theresa Tolle Independent Pharmacist of the Year

NCPA names Theresa Tolle Independent Pharmacist of the Year

ORLANDO, Fla. – The National Community Pharmacists Association and Upsher-Smith Laboratories have announced that Theresa Tolle, BSPharm, FAPhA, owner of Bay Street Pharmacy in Sebastian, Fla., is the winner of the 2023 NCPA Willard B. Simmons Independent Pharmacist of the Year award.  

Tolle, a second-generation owner and pharmacist, has led Bay Street Pharmacy alongside her husband, Joe, since 1999, offering a wide range of patient services, including immunizations and testing, diabetes education, compounding products, medication therapy management, and pharmacogenomics.  

“Theresa’s remarkable achievements exemplify the essence of independent pharmacy where pharmacists like Theresa make a profound difference in the lives of their patients and communities,” said Hugh Chancy, RPh, NCPA president. “Theresa’s commitment to patient care and professional excellence is a source of inspiration for pharmacists and makes her a deserving recipient of this year’s Willard B. Simmons Independent Pharmacist of the Year Award.” 

Tolle was honored with the award Oct. 16 at NCPA’s Annual Convention in Orlando.  

Tolle has held leadership roles in the Florida Pharmacy Association, the American Pharmacists Association and the Community Pharmacy Enhanced Services Network (CPESN) Florida. Tolle actively participates in NCPA committees and plays a pivotal role in the development of clinically integrated networks for independent pharmacies, serving as the Lead Luminary of CPESN Florida. She actively contributes to numerous committees within CPESN USA, furthering the reach of independent pharmacy care.   

The annual award is given to a pharmacist who exhibits exemplary professional leadership, service to the community, and commitment to independent pharmacy. This year marks Upsher-Smith’s 15th year of sponsoring the award in conjunction with NCPA. The award is named in honor of Willard B. Simmons, a former executive secretary of NCPA (then known as the National Association of Retail Druggists) and a longtime trustee of the NCPA Foundation.


To comment on this post, please log in to your account or set up an account now.